The Furphy story began with John Furphy, born in 1842. In 1873 John purchased ten acres of land in Shepparton to establish a blacksmith and wheelwright shop, then added steam works to progress from light smithing to heavier engineering work.
Around 1878 a Copula Furnace was installed and the iron foundry section of the business began. The foundry works flourished and by 1888 John Furphy had the most extensive establishment of its kind in Northern Victoria.
In 1906 the plant was modernised to become one of the few electrically powered factories in Victoria, boasting a suction gas engine to drive a large DC generator.
Then in 1978 the company relocated to its present site in New Dookie Road. Continuing growth and diversification has seen the addition of a Metal Service Centre, Industrial Store, Hot Dip Galvanizing plant and high-tech Laser Cutting facility to the Engineering workshop. These divisions combine to form a truly unique metal trade centre on a single site.
Project engineering and fabrication remains Furphy’s core business and today Furphy’s is an innovator in the design and fabrication of stainless steel tank structures and equipment for major engineering projects.
For more details on the Furphy history view our Historical Books (click thru to online shop)